Whew, we had a busy weekend.  I think it’s not even that we were busy that exhausted us, but because it was mostly spontaneous stuff.  We are not spontaneous people, generally.  I like to plan in advance and we are often lazy.  We like to be lazy.  It’s not as exhausting.  But it is boring, and this weekend was fun!

Chris and I each hung out with a friend on Friday night, then woke up on Saturday on a mission!  I decided to go to a new pilates class, which then contributed to the weekend being exhausting since I haven’t taken a real pilates class in like, a year, and it kicked my butt.  Or more specifically, my hamstrings and abs.  Chris decided to install a new screen door on our porch.  Then we did a bunch of yard work.  Then we cooked dinner, hung out on the porch admiring the new screen door, and were happy to call it an early night and got in bed to watch TV.

Until 10:09 when my brother called.  Weird.  “Where are you?’ he asked.  In bed.  “What are you doing?” he asked.  Watching TV.  Why?  “Huh? Uh? Um? Pub crawl?”  Oops–his friends had organized a pub crawl as a going away party (before his 1 year, round-the-world-trip) and we blanked on the date.  So we hauled ourselves out of bed, put clothes on and drove downtown to meet them at the pub.  *I would like to point out it took me only 15 minutes to get out of the house looking pretty cute considering I’d just gotten out of bed!*

It was great to see all my brother’s friends from college and meet his new friends from Couch Surfing (a crazy concept I am still wrapping my head around).   We hung out at the bar until it closed at 2 am.  Since I am prematurely an old lady, I have not been out this late in years!  And unfortunately, when you’re a prematurely old lady, you still wake up at your normal time even when you go to bed at 3 am.  Ugh.

And we had plans to bring our old dining room table over to our friends’ (since we no longer needed it thanks to our gorgeous new handmade one!).  After that we decided to run a couple errands, including taking another look at this sofa we’ve had our eye on.  We thought we might buy it as a first anniversary present to ourselves.  But then we went into their outlet section and saw the same sofa, but as a sleeper, for $150 less than the regular one.  What?!?  So we hemmed and hawed for a bit and then decided to just buy it.

Except we had to take it home ourselves right then.  We had to move the old one out of the way.  Vacuum.  Call my brother-in-law to lend a hand.  Haul in the new one.  Rearrange.  And finally pass out on our comfy new sofa!

But it’s creating a design dilemma.  I don’t want to have all matchy leather furniture.  So then I got this chair from Ikea:

Which is comfy and looks good, if not a bit anemic across from the big sofa.  And the room now is bordering on overly masculine.  I think I need something softer and more feminine for the second chair.  Maybe one of these?  ( I love this first one!)

It’s a good thing I put the kibosh on any more big purchases for a while.  I’ll need a lot of time to decide between these beauties.  And to convince Chris.  He’s not a fan of anything that doesn’t look comfortable enough to nap in.  And of course, he wants to build something!

