China cabinet before

China cabinet before

Before the summer started and I got really busy with packing for long weekends and trips to South America and going away parties and new couches, etc, etc…I started the wheels turning on this stenciling project.  I wanted at first to hang wallpaper on the back of our built in china cabinet, a la Erin from Elements of Style:

Erin's from Elements of Style wallpapered china cabinet (and French opaline glasses!)

Erin's from Elements of Style wallpapered china cabinet (and French opaline glasses!)

However, when I went to the wallpaper store I was informed I could only buy double rolls which equaled something like a million square feet worth of paper.  For a teeny built in china cabinet.  Don’t think so.  So I next thought of stenciling, which I know was super popular in the 80’s which automatically makes it super tacky now, but I’d seen beautiful images of modern stencils from Royal Design Studio and especially loved their Morroccan inspired ones.  For the cabinet pictured at the top, I chose this stencil:

Royal Design Studio's Bone Weave stencil

Royal Design Studio's Bone Weave stencil

Whatever color I choose it will look like the reverse of this photo: the background will be white and it will be the lines of the design that will be another color.  I was thinking silver?  Should I go more dramatic with black?  More subtle with just a pearly white?  (You can kind of see the color scheme of the room in the dining table post.)  Too many options…

