I’m off to Ecuador today to spend a week with my brother who’s there on the first leg of his round-the-world trip.  This is a trip of firsts for me: first time ever on a plane by myself, first time ever travelling with only my brother, first time to South America, (not the first time travelling with an injured ankle, unfortunately)…first time away from my husband for so long!  At least in several years.  And definitely the first time we’ll go without talking for so long.  At least since we first started dating ten years ago and we both went on separate trips at the same time.

I don’t know how I’m going to do it.  And the kicker is that I’ll come back, be home for a week, and then be off again for a week-long conference for work!  At least then we’ll be able to talk regularly though.   But I have a feeling I’m going to miss him so much this week that I don’t even know how much I’m going to miss him.  But at least I get to be travelling and doing fun things–he has to be here at home without me!

Wedding - All 089

Isn't he cute

